Chinese sponge cake 

With Chinese New Year coming up, I’ve been reminiscing about a lot of the pastries and sweets I used to eat with my pohpoh (grandma in chinese, specifically maternal grandma, even though I called my paternal grandma pohpoh) I remember growing up and eating chinese sponge cake. It was always slightly eggy, sweet, super soft, and I loved squishing it between my pudgy little fingers. I mean, being in my mid-twenties now, I don’t do the squishing it between my pudgy little fingers part, but when I see the sponge cake in the store, I still am reminded of all the wonderful pastries and sweets and my pohpoh when I was growing up.

Leave a Reply

